Maroochy River Over 50’s 2 Day Carnival Success

Maroochy River Over 50’s 2 Day Carnival Success

More than 190 Men and Lady Vets players from across Queensland and NSW and the ACT participated in this years Maroochy River Vets 2 Day Carnival held on 3 and 4 October 2019.

The weather this year was in stark contrast to last year’s event with beautiful clear skies and moderate winds.  The course itself was in fabulous condition thanks to our wonderful course maintenance staff.

This is the 21st time the Maroochy River Vets have hosted the 2 Day Carnival.  This year’s Carnival saw 190 players representing 28 clubs from a variety of places such as Townsville, Canberra, Toowoomba and Murgon.

Many of the players have been making a pilgrimage for many years as they enjoy the standard of Golf Course as well as meeting long term friends.

The event has attracted wonderful sponsorship from Halcyon Parklakes, Maroochy RSL, Ord Minnett, All Coast Golf Cars, TKM Accountants and Century 21.

A big thank you goes out to our Vets volunteers who helped out this year making sure the event was as enjoyable as possible for the players.  Thank you to – Geoff Edwards, Michael Hudson, Geoff Lynch, Scott Derwin and Dave Carr.

Thank you also to our fantastic Lady Volunteers who are always there in the background to run the competition, ensuring of its great success.

Last but certainly not least, thank you to Ed and Merryl Berry who again coordinated the event.  Ed and Merryl have been organising this event now for many years for the benefit of all the Vets Members.  They are the driving force behind this fantastic event.  Well done Ed and Merryl!

Carnival 36 Hole Results:


Division 1 Winner Jan Porter(Mt Coolum ) 73

Runner Up Sue Hughes (MR) 73

Third Di Brewer (MR) 71

Division 2 Winner Coral Welke (MR) 71

Runner Up Pauline Belsar (MR) 71

Third Rhonda Biggs (H‘land ) 69


Division 1Winner Peter Sharp(H’Bay) 81

Runner Up Barney Major 80 c/b

Third Brian Smith 80

Division 2 Winner Bob Allen (MR)

Runner Up Arne Jensen(Pacific Harbour)

Third Con Theodosis (T’mba)

Division 3 Winner Ron Drummond (MR) 77

Runner Up David Andersen (MR)

Third Lance Blinco (T’mba) 75